Login Here

Nagapattinam District an Overview

நாகப்பட்டினம் மாவட்டம் - Nagapattinam District MapNagapattinam District has an area of approximately 2715.83 and it is a coastal district of Tamil Nadu. Length of the coastline is 187 k.m.  Headquater of the district is Nagapattinam.  Nagapattinam District is bounded in the North by Cuddalore District, in the West by Tiruvarur District, Thanjavur District & Ariyalur District, in both South and East by Bay of Bengal, in between there is the Karaikal district of Pondicherry [Puducherry - Union Territory]. Only disconnected district in Tamilnadu and possibly in India.

In 2011, Nagapattinam District had population of 16,16,450 of which male and female were 7,98,127 and 8,18,323 respectively with a sex-ratio of 1,025 females for every 1,000 males. In 2001 census, Nagapattinam District had a population of 14,88,839 of which males were 7,39,074 and 7,49,765 were females. There was change of 8.57 percent in the population compared to population as per 2001. Average literacy rate of Nagapattinam in 2011 were 83.59% compared to 76.34% of 2001.

Velankanni is a pilgrimage center located 10 km (6.2 mi) from Nagapattinam. The town is known for the Basilica of Our Lady of Good Health, a Roman Catholic church built during the 17th century.

Nagore Durgha, a 16th-century minaret located in Nagore, is one of the important pilgrimage centre of the town.

Soundararaja Perumal Temple is a Hindu temple in Nagapattinam dedicated to Vishnu. It is one of the Divya Desams

Nagapattinam District is divided in to 8 Taluks, they are    

* Kilvelur
* Kuthalam
* Mayiladuthurai
* Nagapattinam
* Sirkazhi
* Tharangambadi
* Thirukkuvalai
* Vedaranyam

Nagapattinam District has 4 Municipalities    

* Mayiladuthurai
* Nagapattinam
* Sirkazhi
* Vedaranyam

Main Rivers of Nagapattinam District

* Addapar River
* Kaveri River
* Kollidam (Coleroon)
* Thirumalairajan River
* Vettar River
* Veera Chozhan River

நாகப்பட்டினம் மாவட்டம் ஒரு பார்வை

நாகப்பட்டினம் மாவட்டம் சுமார் 2715.83 சதுர.கி.மீ. பரவியுள்ளது. இது தமிழத்தின் கிழக்குக் கடற்கரையில் அமைந்துள்ளது. சுமார் 187 கி.மீ. கடலோர பகுதியாக அமைந்துள்ளது. இம்மாவட்டத்தின் தலைமையகம் நாகப்பட்டினம். 1991-ஆம் ஆண்டு அக்டோபர் 18-ஆம் தேதி தஞ்சாவூர் மாவட்டத்தின் கிழக்குப் பகுதிகள் தனியாக பிரிக்கப்பட்டு இம்மாவட்டம் உருவாக்கப்பட்டது. நாகப்பட்டினம் மாவட்டத்தின் எல்லைகள், வடக்கில் கடலூர் மாவட்டம், மேற்க்கில் திருவாரூர் மாவட்டம், தஞ்சாவூர் மாவட்டம், மற்றும் அரியலூர் மாவட்டமும் இடையில் பாண்டிச்சேரியின் காரைக்கால் மாவட்டம்  [புதுச்சேரி யூனியன் பிரதேசம்], தெற்க்கு மற்றும் கிழக்கில் வங்காள விரிகுடாவும் உள்ளது. இரண்டு துண்டுகளாக உள்ள ஒரே மாவட்டம், தமிழகத்தின், ஏன் இந்தியாவிலே, இந்த நாகப்பட்டினம் மாவட்டம் மட்டும் தான்.

Add a comment

Latest Info

Scan it with Smart Phone [Iphone / Android / Blackberry & etc.,]

Share This Page

Who's Online

We have 3 guests online

Latest News

Latest Info